23
Feb
11

“you suck!”

Telling a DJ they suck is not going to get your request played.
Yelling it, however, may get you choked.
First of all, it’s just rude, crass, and ignorant.
I don’t suck simply because I won’t play your request.
Maybe I already played it.
Maybe you are in a hip hop club requesting dubstep.
Maybe I just don’t like you.
Telling me that I suck and that you/your cousin/your cat is better is pointless
All you are going to do is piss me off, which guarantees I won’t play your song.
Obviously, not all DJs are created equally.
Some DJs are certainly not as skilled as others.
Pointing this out isn’t your job though.
It’s the job of other DJs who want those gigs to complain about on twitter.



8 Responses to ““you suck!””


  1. 1 jorn
    February 23, 2011 at 7:01 PM

    The kind of person who would tell me I suck reveals a lot about all their decision-making skills…including those used to determine that the song they selected should ever be played.

  2. February 23, 2011 at 9:00 PM

    It’s not what you play, it’s how you play it… and only DJs can put other DJs on blast in 140 characters or less…

  3. February 24, 2011 at 7:19 PM

    Good post, It was able to reassure me that DJs are douchebags.
    Thank you for cementing my beliefs. Have a nice day.

  4. February 25, 2011 at 4:27 PM

    Well, people can tell me they suck… but the bouncers will always have my back. I also don’t care if other DJs say it about me because as stuffdjshate already posted up, it’s usually about “hate” most of the time. But other DJs knocking other DJs for getting gigs is no different than stuffdjshate blasting Celeb Djs. I sort of think the @shitdjs has a point about that kid DJ…that’s just B.S.

  5. 5 Dani
    February 26, 2011 at 8:29 AM

    Went through this one a few weeks ago – a girl came up asking if I was going to play ‘shit music’ all night, and then proceeded to argue with me. DJs are not douchebags – people who come up with instant attitude talking about ‘shit music’ are douchebags.

    • 6 Anonymous
      July 16, 2011 at 11:27 AM

      Individuals that do that kinda complaining need to understand that there are other people at the gig/ party/ wedding etc and most DJ’s will do their best to provide the best variety of music. Dw Dani, individuals who usually have a cry to the DJ do not understand that most DJ’s will do their best to cater for everyone and I bet if they were in your shoes, they wouldnt know what to do to get a crowd going let alone use a DJ set.

  6. 7 NoNamez
    March 9, 2011 at 7:41 AM

    One way to avoid this if you use Serato ITCH is an easter egg of mouse clicking on the BPM field of any deck and typing “am”, and it blacks out all the decks info for artist and title but leaves everything else in place. Type “am” again, and it restores it.

  7. 8 pghdjmarty
    March 21, 2012 at 11:29 AM

    My usual response is “You’re right…that’s why I dj 5 nights a week, people pay a cover to come to the clubs I dj at rather than go to other clubs that have a smaller cover or no cover at all, and all of my gigs are full of people drinking and dancing… you’re right…I suck…I am sorry I missed your viewpoint”. Nothing proves you’re doing something right like success.


Leave a comment


Welcome to StuffDJsHate

Enter your email address to subscribe to StuffDJsHate and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 152 other subscribers

Archives