27
Dec
11

New Year’s Eve

Originally, I wasn’t going to do a post about New Year’s Eve.
It seemed like Halloween, but with fancy clothes instead of stupid costumes.
But the more I think about it, the more I hate NYE.

First of all, it is the most Amateur of all Amateur Nights.
Every year I’ve DJed on NYE, I’ve seen drunks get carried out…before midnight.
Plus most places charge ridiculous amounts for their NYE party package,
so people think they are entitled to unlimited requests with their unlimited cheap champagne.
And at an NYE party, all people want to hear are the big hits from the past year.
So, not only do I have to play the most recent B.E.P. song,
but I have to play the other 4 that were the “greatest song ever, OMG!” this year.
Then there’s the countdown, which is what the party is all about anyway.
Usually the manager/owner/promoter is too busy trying to give champagne to cute girls
so he forgets to coordinate the countdown with the actual time and fucks it up.
Counting backward is difficult for drunk people, so this is important.
At midnight, I have to play ‘Auld Lang Syne‘ while people make out for five minutes.
(While I stand in the booth and make out with a bottle of Veuve. Bonus!)
Then after playing that slow, Scottish song, I have to jump right back into dance music.
The rest of the night is basically poor dancing, awkward make-outs, and people puking.
But, at least it gives DJs a chance to charge five times their usual rate.


4 Responses to “New Year’s Eve”


  1. 1 DJ Jimmy G
    December 27, 2011 at 10:20 AM

    B.E.P. = Giant Sellouts

  2. 2 DJ Buffet
    December 28, 2011 at 12:41 PM

    I play Dropkick Murphys Auld Lang Syne, 30 seconds of that slow shit then into very danceable rock, much easier transition.

  3. 3 Swinger DJ Scott
    July 23, 2012 at 3:56 PM

    The one thing I can definitely say is the groups that I dj for are very relaxed about what I play. As long as everyone is having a good time, they don’t care.

    Also, they rarely want to hear any of the top 40 bullshit. They prefer stuff from the 60′s – 90′s and a select few modern songs.

  4. 4 wow
    April 6, 2013 at 8:11 PM

    Excellent article. I definitely appreciate this site.

    Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to StuffDJsHate

http://twitter.com/StuffDJsHate

Enter your email address to subscribe to StuffDJsHate and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

